News: Olivier Award nominations announced today

Monday 10 March 2014 by Carmel Smith

'What's Become Of You?' (Questcequetudeviens?) Compagnie 111 Aurélien Bory/Stéphanie Fuster. Photo: Aglaé

The nominations for this year’s Olivier Awards were announced this morning (Monday 10 March) by Nigel Harman and Leigh Zimmerman at the Rosewood hotel in London and streamed live online at

The nominations for Best New Dance Production are:
What’s Become Of You? ( Questcequetudeviens?) – Compagnie 111 Aurélien Bory/Stéphanie Fuster, as part of London International Mime Festival, at Barbican Theatre.
Puz/zleEastman/Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui at Sadler’s Wells
Barbican Britten: PhaedraRichard Alston Dance Company/Britten Sinfonia at Barbican Theatre

The Outstanding Achievement in Dance nominees are:
Arthur Pita for his choreography for Ballet BlackA Dream Within A Midsummer Night’s Dream at the Linbury Studio Theatre, Royal Opera House
Clemmie Sveaas for her performance in Cathy Marston’s Witch-Hunt at the Linbury Studio Theatre, Royal Opera House
The Mark Morris Season at Sadler’s Wells
Michael Hulls for his lighting work including Ballet Boyz: The Talent at Sadler’s Wells

William Tuckett’s highly popular dance theatre production The Wind in the Willows, originally commissioned as part of ROH2 at the Linbury Studio Theatre and recently seen at the Duchess Theatre picked up nominations in the Best Entertainment and Family and Costume Design categories (for Nicky Gillibrand)

Contenders for Best Theatre Choreographer are: Peter Darling for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Theatre Royal Drury Lane); Steven Hoggett for Once ( Phoenix Theatre ); Casey Nicholaw for The Book of Mormon ( Prince of Wales Theatre ) and Susan Stroman for The Scottsboro Boys ( Young Vic ).

The shortlist for the BBC Radio 2 Audience Award – the only Olivier Award voted for by the public – is Matilda The Musical, Les Misérables, The Phantom of the Opera and Wicked.

The 2014 Olivier Awards ceremony will take place at the Royal Opera House on Sunday 13 April with full television highlights broadcast on ITV later that evening.
MasterCard, sponsors of the awards, will make tickets for the 2014 ceremony available to the public on Monday 10 March at

For the full list of nominees see

Pictured: What’s Become Of You? (Questcequetudeviens?) Compagnie 111 Aurélien Bory/Stéphanie Fuster. Photo: Aglaé

Leave a comment

You must be signed in to post comments.

Sign in now

What’s On