News: New Year Honours for Dance 2015

Tuesday 6 January 2015 by Clare Evans

Jeanetta Laurence - Associate Director of The Royal Ballet

The New Year Honour List has been announced, and Jeanetta Laurence, Associate Director of The Royal Ballet, is one of the leading figures in the dance community to be awarded the honour. She has received an OBE.

“I am delighted to receive this Honour”, said Jeannetta, “It has been the most wonderful privilege to have been a part of The Royal Ballet organisation, first at the School then as a dancer with the Company and, for the last twenty five years, as part of the Senior Management Team.”

Jeanetta Laurence has worked for The Royal Ballet for over 46 years and will retire in June 2015. Over her time with the company, she has worked closely with Director Kevin O’Hare along with former Directors Anthony Dowell, Ross Stretton and Monica Mason. Laurence is also a Trustee of the Frederick Ashton Foundation, which exists to perpetuate the legacy and work of the Founder Choreographer of The Royal Ballet and of the Royal Ballet Benevolent Fund and the Benesh Institute Endowment Fund.

Other notable figures in dance who were recognised on the list include Janet Smith, principal of Northern School of Contemporary Dance (and choreographer & Artistic Director of Scottish Dance Theatre for 14 years), and Marguerite Porter, Director of Yorkshire Ballet Summer School. Both women were awarded MBEs for their achievements.

Es Devlin was also awarded an OBE for her work as a Stage and Set Designer. She has worked with several dance companies – including Russell Maliphant Company (After Light, Rodin Project); The Royal Ballet (Connectome), Rambert Dance Company, and others. Jude Kelly, artistic Director of Southbank Centre London, was awarded a CBE, and Joseph Seelig, founder of London International Mime Festival received an OBE. Read our interview with Joseph Seelig on his work with LIMF.

Photo: Jeanetta Laurence – Associate Director of The Royal Ballet

What’s On