News: Dance UK Industry Award 2015 - open for nominations

Tuesday 20 October 2015 by Carmel Smith

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2015 Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award, which honours an individual working in dance who has made an outstanding contribution to the art form. The award aims to highlight the important, but often unacknowledged, contributions made by individuals that make a real difference to how dance is created, supported and seen. The winner will be announced at the Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards at The Place on 25 January 2016.

Previous winners of the award include: Dick Matchett MBE (2003); Theresa Beattie (2004); Brendan Keaney (2005); Val Bourne CBE (2006); Celeste Dandeker OBE (2007); Janet Smith MBE (2008); Marie McCluskey MBE (2009); Gill Clarke (2010); and David Burnie (2011); Jeanette Siddall CBE (2012); Amanda Chinn (2013) and Frank Doran MP (2014).

Amanda Chinn, General Manager of Scottish Dance Theatre, said on winning in 2013: “It is a very great honour, overwhelming and humbling to receive the Jane Attenborough Dance UK Arts Industry Award. I celebrate it with some incredibly special and talented colleagues and ex-colleagues who I have had the pleasure of riding this dance rollercoaster alongside.”

Nominees should be individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to move dance forward and enable the art form to thrive. The person could be a dance manager, designer, teacher, critic – in fact anyone – who, through their knowledge, skill and generosity, has made a significant contribution to dance beyond the scope of their usual role. People who have been nominated in previous years but have not won can be re-nominated.

How to make a nomination:
• Nominations for the award should be sent to Hollie McGill, administrator via email to
• All nominations must be received by Thursday 17 December 2015
• Please include the name of the person nominated, along with a statement of no more than 200 words explaining why this person should win the award.
• Please include your own name and contact details
• Please state where the person nominated is based and how he or she can be contacted

The Dance UK Industry Award is dedicated to, and named after, Jane Attenborough, who was the founding Director of Dance UK. The 2015 Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award is sponsored by Gary Halkyard and Sprizzato.

Leave a comment

You must be signed in to post comments.

Sign in now

What’s On